

S. J. McKee Archives



WARUCC fonds

http://archives.brandonu.ca/en/permalink/descriptions4867

Other Title Info: Western Association of Registrars of the Universities and Colleges of

Canada

Part Of: RG 5 Western Manitoba Manuscript Collection

Description Level: Collection
Accession Number: 8-2006

GMD: multiple media
Date Range: 1973-2003

Physical Description: 73 cm textual records; approx. 70 photographs with negatives

History / Biographical:

The first conference of Western Canadian Registrars was held in January, 1952, at the University of Alberta. The four western Canadian Universities were represented by G.B. Taylor (Registrar, University of Alberta), C.B. Wood (Registrar, University of Saskatchewan) and A.D. Cairns (Assistant Registrar, University of Alberta). No attempt was made at this meeting to set up a formal organization or to plan regular meetings.

It was not until the University of Alberta and The University of British Columbia jointly hosted the "Second Triennial Conference of Registrars of Canadian Universities and Colleges" at the Banff School of Fine Arts in January 1962, that plans were made to establish a western regional organization of registrars of degree granting universities and colleges. Since the national group would meet every two years, it was agreed that the western group would meet in the intervening year.

The first official meeting of the Western Universities Registrars was held at the University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, in 1963. The Association was established as a regional component of the Association of Registrars of the Universities of Canada (ARUC). The second meeting was held in January, 1965 at the University of Manitoba, Winnipeg.

Since the national group chose to forego its regular meeting in 1966 in order to hold it in Montreal during Expo 1967, the University of Calgary hosted the third western conference in June, 1966. This was the first conference to which delegates from non-degree granting colleges were invited.

The fourth western regional conference was hosted by the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, 1968; the fifth at the University of Saskatchewan, Regina Campus, 1970; and the sixth, hosted by the University of Alberta at Jasper, Alberta, 1972.

During the 1972 conference a steering committee was formed to develop a structure and constitution for a formal organization. The committee consisted of Barry Browning (Registrar, The University of Manitoba), Jerry Della Mattia (Director of Admissions, Douglas College, Vancouver), Len Semrau (Registrar, NAIT, Edmonton) and John Dorgan (Registrar, University of Saskatchewan).

The next meeting was held the following year in Brandon, Manitoba. At this time the

S. J. McKee Archives p. 1

constitution was approved and the name Western Canadian Association of Registrars of Institutions of Post-Secondary Education (WCARIPSE) was adopted for the newly formalized organization. Fred Bennett, Registrar of Camosun College, Victoria, BC was selected to serve as the first chair of WCARIPSE, serving a two year term.

Institutional membership was open to all provincial and federal institutions of post-secondary education located in the four western provinces of Canada. The 1973 membership roster consisted of 42 institutional members and 94 individual members.

The western association was originally established as a regional component of the Association of Registrars of the Universities of Canada (ARUC). However, a rather serious problem arose in 1966 when the western group agreed to include non-degree granting institutions in its membership even though ARUC membership was restricted to degree granting institutions. The issue, and some other problems closely related to it, was not settled until the ARUC Conference of 1974. At that time, the motion to extend membership to include non-university registrars was moved, subsequently carried and ARUC became the Association of the Registrars of Universities and Colleges of Canada (ARUCC).

The University of Saskatchewan hosted the 1979 WARUCC conference in Saskatoon. In 1981, at the conference in Winnipeg, the four founding members, Alex Cairns, Douglas Chevrier, Norm Cram and Jack Parnall were presented with honorary memberships in WARUCC.

Vancouver was the site for the 1983 conference, at which time Doug Burns, Edith Allen and Alan Wallis were honored as life members of the association.

Subsequent meetings were held in Lethbridge, 1985, and in Regina, 1987. By 1987 membership had grown to 65 institutional members and 225 individual members. The constitution was amended to extend membership boundaries from the four western provinces to 88 degrees (W) longitude, providing for participation by Lakehead University and colleges of the Northwest Territories and Yukon.

The 1989 conference was hosted by The University of Manitoba in Winnipeg. In 1991 Capilano College hosted the conference at Whistler in British Columbia. In 1993 the University of Calgary hosted the conference in Calgary. In 1995 the University of Saskatchewan hosted the conference in Saskatoon. In 1997 The University of Manitoba hosted the conference in Winnipeg. In 1999 the University of Northern British Columbia hosted the conference in Prince George, British Columbia.

Custodial History:

Records had been in the possession of various secretaries of WARRUC until their donation to the McKee Archives in 2006.

Scope and Content:

Fonds consists of minutes, financial records, membership records, photographs and miscellaneous documents.

Notes: History/Bio information taken from the WARRUC website at:

http://www.brandonu.ca/emu/mcleod/warucc/web_pages/history.htm (February 2006). Some processing completed. Financial records (ie bank statements, invoices) were culled from the records. Description by

Christy Henry.

Storage Location: 2006 accessions
Storage Range: 2006 accessions

S. J. McKee Archives p. 2